A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

While the conclusion may be true and the pet food is not responsible for pets being ill, there are some assumptions which unstated may lead to the statement to be not consistent.

First of all, one of the assumptions is that there were enough samples tested to determine whether they are innocuous to the pets. If this does not hold the examination may have not revealed the danger. For example, there were 4 million pounds of food, if only 100 pounds were tested it may be statistically insignificant to say that all 4 million pounds are harmless. That is why it is important that there were enough samples used and these samples were chosen randomly which is a crucial requirement for doing statistical analysis.

Secondly, the company probably assumes that the chemicals are not only approved but they do not become poisonous when they interact with other food or drinks. It may be that the owner gives to his/her pets besides food produced by the company other food or drinks and if interaction of chemicals of company's food with the other type becomes harmful, it may be the cause for pets experiencing lethargy and vomiting.

Finally, there is an assumption that exactly this recalled food was the object of complaints. If these 4 million pounds were produced not so much time before and food that caused complaints was produced, for example, one year ago, and it was immediately sold, there may be no correlation between these two 'production units'. The former one (relative to the time) may be produced with some technological commitment that resulted in the different chemical structure of food that may be dangerous for pets' health.

To conclude, there are lot of flaws in the author's argument due to unstated assumptions. If these assumptions are not taken into consideration the statement of the author stays unwarranted.