The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument draws the conclusion that the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring mandatory 40 hours of community service by students prior to their graduation is just based on the fact that the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined in the recent years in several charitable organizations. The argument fails to consider various reasons for the evident decline in the number of students.

Firstly, students are always more inclined to work in an environment that is conducive and friendly. It is quite possible that these charitable organizations may not be sincerely involved in making charitable contributions to the community and instead would be making huge profits of their own or would be involved in various other malpractices. There seems to be a clear gap of information about this in the argument. A little clarity about this would help to draw a better conclusion from the same.

Some may debate that the decrease in the number of students has got to do nothing with the environment or the malpractices of the charitable organizations. Then, it is quite probable that the teens of the town would be looking at these organizations as the perfect model and have wished to start small groups of their own to make a difference to the community. The School Board must make a comprehensive research regarding the same and indeed help the students to come up with such group activities and provide them with resources to make their efforts reach the community. In fact, the School Board could organize competitions among schools of Pleasantville to see which school is successful in collecting the maximum charity. This would in a way inculcate team spirit and competitiveness among the teens along with the value of community service. If the School Board is successful in passing the 40 hours mandatory community service they would in a way prevent such small community service groups from blooming.

It is also quite possible that the students are overburdened with the academic and extra-curricular activities of the school because of the strict and lengthy syllabus laid down by the School Board and hence, they are not able to impart as much time to community service as before. The school board should make a proper survey about whether such a scenario arises or not and if it does take preventive measures which may include organizing events that would foster the value of community service among the teens. It is equally possible that the teens of the town are more inclined to academics or other activities, and hence it is also the responsibility of the parents along with the schools, to make them cognizant about the necessity of giving back to the community not only in terms of money but in terms of service as they knowingly or unknowingly get from the community. Lastly, the conclusion regarding the 40 hours mandatory community service is drawn on inadequate information and needs to be clear and detailed. For example, what duration of time should the 40 hour community service be completed, is it convenient or not to the students and what impact it would have on academic scores of teens. These are various other factors the School Board needs to consider before coming to a conclusion. Ultimately, a lot of research work is required before coming to a conclusion about what is good for the teens of the town and also establishing leniency and incentives to the teens to attract them to make a difference to the community by giving back what they get from the community.