A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

The argument draws the conclusion that "the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable." While this may be correct but, in order to evaluate effectively, the given evidence should be analyzed.

The first piece of evidence that might help us to assess the argument is information about consumption of other dishes in Bay City restaurants during the past five years. The author states about consumption of sea food dishes but did not mention other foods. It is possible that consumption of other dishes in Bay restaurants city has increased more than 30 percent (it means that consumption of sea dishes decreases in comparison of other food than 5 years ago). In this case, if we had evidence that consumption of other dishes has increased less than 30 percent, it would strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the author claims that "a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating." This raises the question that answers to the question will assist in evaluating the argument, it is weather that families eat sea dishes. There are a lot of healthy foods except sea dishes that the families can eat. On the other hand, one research is not strong evidence for concludes about something. It is possible that the research is not reliable or not true about the different sample. For instance, it is possible that people of Bay city have a distinct subculture that does not support eating of sea dishes in contrast to the main culture. The argument would have been strengthened if have stated the result of more studies and also the rate of consumption of sea dishes in Bay city.

Finally, according to the conclusion of this argument the new Captain Seafood restaurant should be popular and profitable. There are a lot of factors that effect on popularity and profitability of restaurant. For instance, quality of the foods, price, and personnel. If we learn that the restaurant has all factors for being popular and profitable, it would strengthen the argument.

In summary, we need extra evidence to thorough understanding of strengths and weaknesses of the argument. We need information about consumption of other dishes in Bay City restaurants during the past five years. Also, we require knowing results of more study about the use of sea dishes and we have to know the feature of the new Captain Seafood restaurant for being popular and profitable.