A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesiz

It is essential for an employer to keep his human resource work force at its highest efficiency. In this manner, with specific hours spent on a job, the result will be of much higher quality. However, it does not necessarily guarantee that employees with paid sick leave less likely to face with work-related accident rather than employees who do not receive payment for their sick leave.

To begin with, it should be mentioned that being paid with their sick leave by their employers, the employees will always request sick leave even for small matters, for example a couple of coughs. Furthermore, since they are sure that they will be paid for their absence, they try to stay on sick leave as long as possible. Interestingly, this alibi will become popular among lazy workers who always try to find an excuse in order to do no work.

Second point is that employees who do not get paid for their sick leave can work, although their efficiency is not as high as when they are in complete health. Accordingly, it does not mean they cannot work at all. According to the author's claim, on-the-job accidents are at its climax in occupations with high-risk circumstances like construction, but he does not point out that suck occupations are well-paid enough that release the employee from feeling compelled for fear of lack of pay.

Finally, to be honest, there exist some employees who do not receive enough salary and they do not have a lucrative job and they do not also are not paid sick leave. Not only these kind of situations are negligible, but also their employers have a special solution for these sudden events. For instance, they give dedicated number of days for normal leave most of the time about two and a half day leave per month in order to give the opportunity to their employees for investigating their out of work environment issues. According to this fact, employees can spend their normal leave on their medical checkups or they can visit a doctor when they get sick and fortunately, they do not lose any salary since they are eligible to use their normal leave on any issues.

In conclusion, I believe that paid sick leave does not completely justify researchers' hypothesize about the fact that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness and also, there are some solutions like lucrative jobs do not feel significant stress or there are some regular days devoted to normal leave for any issue an employee may face with.