"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Based on the recent study on eighteen rhesus monkeys, the scientists argue that the effects of birth order had a relation with individual’s levels of stimulation. However, there are some unaddressed questions to account for before any conclusion.

Firstly, the sample size of the study is limited to eighteen rhesus monkeys. To generalize the observations of the study, a larger number is desirable. Out of the eighteen rhesus monkeys examined, what is the proportion of the newborns to the older ones? Similarly, what is the ratio of the first-time mothers to those who already had several offspring? Assuming that they were in equal numbers, this will reduce the number of each type of specimen to 4 or 5 which further limits the scope for generalization. Moreover, the sub-species of rhesus monkeys under study are not specified. The question, whether or not, the observed increased levels of hormone cortisol is limited to a certain sub-species is intriguing. It may be possible that the results may hold true for one sub-type and not for others.

The study links the observed level of hormone cortisol to increased stimulation relying on the fact that hormone cortisol primes the body for increased activity. However, the study only measures the level of cortisol and does not delineate the criteria used for observing the consequent stimulation levels in the monkeys. The extent to which hormone cortisol stimulates the body needs to be understood. It may be possible that there are other hormones, for example adrenalin, that may have a fair part in stimulating the body and the levels of which have not been studied according to the birth-order. While hormone cortisol might have an effect on stimulation levels, what other hormones contribute significantly to the activity levels; and what are their levels relative to birth order; are the unaddressed questions. The same issue must be addressed with respect to humans whether there are other hormones produced in high levels during stimulating situations.

The similar finding of high levels of hormone cortisol in first time mothers compared to those have several offspring may not be inextricably linked to the birth-order of infants. During the first childbirth body goes through a lot of new biological and physiological processes for the first time. This might also be linked to production of hormone cortisol. This explanation also be valid for the first child who has inherited the cortisol level from its mother.