A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay compared to children of suburban areas of United States even though the people in these regions receive little professional dental care. There can be many possible explanations for this.

The people of Himalaya region are surrounded by natural habitat. Since there is no access to cosmetic products there, they must be relying on natural products for dental hygiene. It believed that the village people use branches of some trees like Neem are very effective in brushing the teeth.

Tooth decay can also be considered a heredity problem. The teeth of people of in Himalayan region of Nepal must be really strong and might stay decay free for longer period of time without much effort.

Difference in food habit also plays a major role. Children in suburban areas have constant access to chocolates, soft drinks, cheese, mayonaise and other junk food. Eating such food items definitely speed up the process of tooth decay. On the other hand, the children in himalayan region might be devouring only on vegetarian food.

The above examples help us understand that regular profession dental care is not a necessity but dental care is a must.