"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

The article argues that companies should hire people who need less sleep because these employees are more likely to succeed based on a survey of 300 advertising executives. A number of assumptions have been made about the generalisability of the survey result, the reliability of the reported need of sleep and other related issues. We need to examine the assumptions carefully in order to assess the argument.

To begin with, the assumption that the survey results can be applied more broadly may not hold true. The subjects of the survey are all from a single industry, namely, advertising. Maybe it is important for people in this field to burn the midnight’s oil to prosper. But this rule may not apply to other industries, for example, insurance or manufacturing. In addition, the survey only asks the executives who may have to work extra hours to lead the companies. But for employees at lower level sleeping less may not be very helpful for achieving success.

In addition, it is assumed that the executives actually need little sleep as reported in the survey. In other words, the assumption is that the subjects were telling the truth about their lifestyles during the survey. It is possible that the survey respondents just want to impress others or show their attitudes towards sleep when answering the questions.

Without further data to verify the reliability of the survey results, it is not reasonable to apply the finding in the hiring processes.

Another assumption being made is that the need of less sleep is the main reason why the executives were successful. As we all know, correlation does not necessarily imply causation. A host of other factors unrelated to sleep may have caused the success of the executives. For example, they might happen to have a good team of people working efficiently towards their goals. Or they were lucky enough to meet some clients who were willing to pay higher fees which boosted the profit margins and the growth rates. Without looking into how they achieved success, it is too hasty to attribute their accomplishments to their sleep patterns.

Finally, it is also assumed that executives with less need for sleep can succeed in the long term. Maybe they manage to accomplish more than their peers with their abilities to sleep less. But we do not know how the relatively small amount of sleep would have any negative impact on their health and their performance in the long term. We also do not know how their lifestyles may affect the overall job satisfaction of themselves and their co-workers. If their abilities to sleep less would enable them to work overtime, maybe they would also force their colleagues to work overtime, which may not benefit the long-term success of a company.

In conclusion, it is not reasonable to recommend hiring people who need less sleep based on this survey on a relatively small group of executives from a single industry. More information is needed before we can check the assumptions discussed above and make a more reasonable hiring policy.