A recent study with a researcher pretending to have a broken down car on the side of the road showed that when the researcher was a man,

60% of the time, a man pulled over to help them, and 0% of the time a woman stopped to help. When the researcher was a woman,

70% of the time a man stopped to help, and 20% of the time a woman stopped to help.

This study shows how all men are more naturally altruistic than women. It also shows that women care more about helping women than men.

The argument is based on a research in which a researcher pretended to have a broken-down car and collected the stats about how many man and woman stopped to help the researcher. In one case researcher was a man and in another case a woman. The argument is just based on the stats presented. However, there can be lot of the other reasons because of which more men pulled the car to help the researcher in both the cases. In the passage below, I will explain why this argument is dubious and what additional information can substantiate this argument to make it more sound and convincing.

First of all, it might be the case that because of safety reasons women are not willing to pull over their car to help the researcher. As we all know, the number of cases involving rape and harassment against woman are increasing day by day, so woman might think that the person who is standing with the broken car is just another guy who might try to harass or kidnap her if she pulls over her car to help him. Also, in case of woman, 20% of the woman stopped to help her, but nowadays a woman can also not trust the other random woman, as researcher might be just a bait to convince the woman to stop her car to help. Also, increased percentage of men stopping their car when they see a woman can be explained by men looking for opportunities to impress the woman instead of altruistic quality. Hence, if arguments also try to focus on why women didn't stop and also why a large percentage of men stopped to help, then argument can be more sound and convincing.

Also, most of the times, repairing a car requires masculine power and men are always ready to show how macho they are. So, less number of women are pulling over to help might be because of woman thinking that pulling over won't help as they won't be able to help the researcher. But may be in the case when researcher is a woman, some woman stops as they think that a woman can't repair her broken car and she might of some help. Hence, simply stating the altruistic nature is the reason for more men pulling over to help than women is dubious. Author should also take into account different scenarios before coming to this conclusion. Author can conduct some other experiment in which woman can help and man can't help and then try to see how many woman come forward to help in comparison to how many men are coming forward. Based on data from multiple experiment a sound conclusion can be stated.

Hence, before concluding author should also take into account why so many men stopped to help and why women didn't stop to help and as stated, author should also take into account different experiments before coming to a conclusion. Only by taking different data set a sound and more persuasive argument can be stated.