A recent study shows that people living on the continent of North America suffer 9 times more chronic fatigue and 31 times more chronic depression than do people living on the continent of Asia. Interestingly, Asians, on average, eat 20 grams of soy per day, whereas North Americans eat virtually none. It turns out that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. Thus, North Americans should consider eating soy on a regular basis as a way of preventing fatigue and depression.

The writer of this argument recommends that eating soy on a regular basis can be consider as a way to prevent fatigue and depression. To support his recommendation, he compared North American and Asian and based on the results of this comparison, he concluded that soy eating is very useful to decline the rate of these types of diseases. This recommendation cannot be accepted because it is based on a number of premises which all of them are questionable.

Firstly, in this argument there is not any evidence to give us information about the sample population. As you know, in research studies the size of the sample population is very important. It must be logical and in appropriate with the concerned population. If this study was done only on 20 persons, its result cannot be accepted and valid. In addition, the population in the sample must select randomly to decrease the distance between its results and real results. In this argument, there is not any evidence to support it. Furthermore, the sample population must be representative of the target population in terms of age, gender, social class, etc. This argument did not support this rule and due to it this study cannot be valid and acceptable.

If it is assumed that this research study is acceptable, in this argument there is not any study to evaluate the genetic similarities between these races. As you know, various persons have different genes and consequently different genotype and phenotype. It is unanimously believed that some people are more sensitive to specific types of illness than other. It can originate from their genes and consequently, genes products, such as proteins, hormones, etc. In addition, some environmental factors can overshadow gene expression. As an illustration, low temperature can lead to over expression of some genes and these products can be harmful for human bodies and result in increasing rate of some types of diseases. Thus, it can be stated that Asian can more tolerate to fatigue and depression genetically than American and diet does not have any prominent impact on its prevention.

On the other hand, the writer did not state anything about the effect of geological factors. Environmental factors can intensify or decline the impact of genetic. Geographical factors such as geographical longitude and latitude, day length, temperature and so on, can have negative or positive effect on illness expression. So this analogy between two continents is weak and cannot be acceptable.

Even if assuming, soy is useful to prevent these illness, the writer stated that soy contains phytochemicals called Isoflavones, which have been found to possess disease-preventing properties. There is not any evidence to support this claim. Maybe this effect is a result of a combination of different things in soy and Isoflavones cannot be useful alone. In addition the amount usage (20 grams of soy per day) is not logical. Maybe this amount is suitable for Asian but not proper for American. The amount usage must be defined on the basis of the scientific studies which writer did not say anything about them.

In the final analysis, it can be state that this recommendation specious and it rests on the basis of assumptions which all of them are questionable. It can be accepted only if these weakness were removed and all questions are answered.