A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The health experts argue that the residents of Mentia will suffer less headaches as companies plan to add salicytes as flavor additives in foods, which till now has been used as preservatives. Supporting the argument is a study spanning twenty years which suggests a correlation between rise in the commercial use of salicytes and decline of reported headaches. Though the argument might have merit number of questions need to be answered and various alternative possibilities to be ruled out before conclusively predicting that the future headaches suffered by residents will be fewer.

The primary support of the argument is the research results and hence the most important questions need to be answered is regarding the scope and validity of conducted study before using its results to predict a future trend. Was the sample used for the study representative of all the residents of Mentia? Was the study able to trace the same sample group over the entirety of the study? Since it is mentioned that the study spanned a time of twenty years it need to be known whether the participants of study continued to reside in Mentia over all the period. If a significant number of subjects moved out and others joined, it can affect the study that the group no longer represents the population of Mentia. Even more important is the the question whether there was any control group, who did not use the processed foods. Was it able to keep them away from processed food for twenty years, which is a quite long period. Without a control group, the results will be blind towards the presence of other possible alternative causes such as improved quality of life etc.

Even if the study was conducted scientifically and the results of the study were subjected to careful scrutiny, there is no evidence that a further increase in the amount of salicytes will prove to be better for reducing headache. Where any studies or research conducted as to determine what is the optimum level of salicytes in food so as alleviate headaches? Why was salicytes not having an effect regardless of their abundance naturally in food? This could well suggest the presence of a lower threshold and a similar chance of upper threshold is to be ruled out before deciding that any increase will just lead to a better effect. Otherwise it could worsen the existing headache or could induce them anew in people

Even when the salicytes prove to be functioning as anodynes with regards to headaches at any concentration, it needs to be known whether they will bw used in the same way(undergoing same chemical treatments), when used as flavour agents, as they were used as preservatives. Processing of the salicyte before added to the food could play a part in its exhibited chemical characteristics, when present in food. Also important is the question whether it will be used with the same foods as it was used as preservatives. If that not be the case it should be studied whether it can lead to a dangerous substance.

Even though the argument is not without merit the questions discussed above are to be answered in order to evaluate the argument.