"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented by the author may at first appear that it is based on sound logic. However when one further contemplates on the argument, the many shortcomings become patent. The author bases his assumption on vague data which are not entirely tenable. As a result the conclusion drawn by the author are debatable.

The primary fault with the argument is the want of specific information and statistics. The author continuously mentions ambiguous data. He first states that there is a decline in the listener numbers but doesn't offer precise number.This lack of data obscures the...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.