To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving there after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a musical format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

As stated in the memorandum of the WWAC radio station manager, there might be a decline in the number of listeners but, the reasons provided for changing the format of radio channel is not convincing. It is quite natural that certain measures should to be taken in order to increase the profits. This can be done by increasing the number of listeners but, this argument is rife with holes and assumptions and hence, fails to provide cogent reasons.

The manager states that in order to reverse the decline of listeners, their company has decided to change from rock music but, it is not specified that the number of listeners have decreased due to rock-music format. There might be several other reasons like there may be constant disturbances in channel or there may be high number of commercials which of often urges one to switch to other channels etc. So, before jumping to the conclusion of moving from its original format, the company should carry out accurate survey in its listening area asking people what are the main reasons for their transition to the other channels. In order to support his argument, some detailed analysis should be carried out in form of a survey.

Similarly, the reasons provided in the memo for facing a decline despite of growth in listening zone are incongruous. Even though, it may be true that rise in inhabitants was due to elderly people but, this does not prove that they are not fond of rock-music. There are no age bars for music, even a small child can be a follower of classical music while an old man would prefer to listen rock music. Everyone has their own choice.

Likewise, the only explanation provided for changing to news and talk show is that the number of local sales of music have gone down and assuming that the people have started to find limited interest in them but, there might be other reasons like increase in piracy or limited sources for buying music etc. Also there is no guarantee that there news and music show would go hit because, people may like a particular radio jockey and this might be the reason for its success.

In short, the WWAC management group should first perform detail analysis of its existing format rather than switching over to new type based on assumptions.