Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Involvement of teenagers and youths in charitable community services brings positive results both for the youth and the community. For this reason The Pleasantville school board has stated to make the compulsion of 40 hours community service prior to the graduation. Though the claim is somewhat reasonable, it is far too extreme to be pragmatic. It is based on incomplete premises and riffed with so many fallacies regarding the youths and teenagers and has failed to take the choices and interests of teenagers into consideration.

The first fallacy is they provide opportunities of teenagers to engage in community services. We are not given any evidences on whether the teenagers are interested in the community work, what is the community work for, its aims and targets. The youths are less likely to involve in anything that doesn’t interest them from within. The claim would be more profound if there would be mention of what kind of opportunities are they providing for the teenagers and are they able to attract them.

According to the statement, there seems to be the great need of volunteers but fails to mention the reason. Similarly it states that the number has greatly diminished within the recent years. What if these two incidents are inter-related, What if in the name of social work; someone is working for some personal benefits and the number has reduced when the volunteers found this out and are not willing for anyone’s personal benefits. As in above case, the claim needs to be justified with evidences to hold true.

Again, the major fallacies here seem to be the dis-regard of the teenagers. The one which are to be involved are shunned and the views and agreements of the teachers, parents and other elders are taken into account. They cannot decide what is good and what is not good for the teenagers. The teenagers should be allowed to think for themselves. If they are forced to do something without their own will, it is never going to succeed. So, for the claim to be valid the active ones should be given enough consideration.

Among many other fallacies, the claim seems to be driven by the motives of charity rather than the benefits of the young ones. The consideration here is that when the youths take part in social charity programmers they will collect more funds with their charisma and charm and their innocence. But what we don't know is what are the charities programmers for. The reasons seems somehow obscured. In order to get the better results the volunteers should be well- awared of what the charities are for and what beneficiaries it will have on the society and to themselves.

Furthermore, the school board has made the 40 hours community service mandatory on the basis of some unwarranted premises and assumptions. They must discuss with the volunteers and consider how they view this new imposing rules and only after considering all options such rules must be imposed.

In the conclusion, the teenagers and their views regarding the mandatory service should be re-examined, backed with some meaningful assumptions and complete evidences which can convince the youths and motivates toward the social work rather than force them to do something they do not want.