Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the article avers that an honor code introduced in Groveton College has been successful and other institutions have to adopt this code so that the number of cheating students decreases. While the writing makes this argument based on some observations, they include unwarranted assumptions and logical fallacies. Therefore, it is not reasonable to follow the main idea of this article without the scrutiny of the evidence presented by the writer.

To begin with, it is not possible to conclude that the honor code has resulted in a decrease in cheating just because the reported cases have declined. While the author mentions that the number of reported cheating has dropped from twenty-one to fourteen in five years, there is no reason to believe that the real amount of cheating was actually reflected in the students' reports. In contrast, it is likely that many Groveton students have chosen to be silent about cheating by other students because of their personal relationships or mere reluctance. In this situation, it should be considered that there have been omitted reports of cheating.

Furthermore, the survey regarding the attitude of the students cannot be cited as a cogent supporting point for the main argument of the article. The writer merely states that most Groveton students remarked that they would be less willing to cheat with an honor code compared to the past. However, this statement itself cannot prove that the actual decline in cheating has happened. In contrast, the students might make a lip-service. It is also possible that some of them might pretend that they were influenced by the honor code despite their inclination to cheating. Thus, that sort of single question cannot guarantee any real effect of the honor code.

Besides, it should also be noted that hectic generalization is made by the author. Although it becomes clear that the honor code of Groveton College has been successful, it is not logical to confirm that other universities or colleges can get the same outcome. It is probable that Groveton College has specific variables related to the decline in cheating. For instance, the number of students can be low and it is easy for students to detect other students' behaviors. There is also a possibility that a myriad of courses offered by Groveton College do not require exams but other tasks for appraisal, such as writing essays and team projects. Given the aforementioned considerations, it would be hard for other institutions to take the same measure and expect the same result.

Finally, it has to be questioned if the honor code fully replaced the previous system. Whereas the author confirms that it substituted for the past system where teachers monitored students, there is no clue about this observation. It is possible that the previous system has coexisted with the new honor code and that system has influenced the behaviors of students. In this circumstance, the purported decline in cheating cannot be a result of the honor code on its own.

In conclusion, it is not reasonable to say that the argument of this article is cogent unless more concrete data and evidence are presented. For example, the author may mention a comprehensive investigation of the reported cases of cheating.