In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Researchers found seemingly conflicting results when studying the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens. While survey respondents stated they preferred literary classics, public library users most frequently checked out a different genre—mystery novels. The author concludes that the survey respondents misrepresented their reading habits.

At first reading, this seems to be a logical assumption—library records are unlikely to misrepresent which library books are checked out, so it must be that survey respondents answered inaccurately. However, the author is building a case on the premise that the survey is representative of library users. The author fails to give evidence for any connection between the population of survey respondents and the population of library users. Perhaps if they survey was given at the libraries, we could assume the survey would be a representative sample, but we do not know any information about the circumstances of the survey.

Even if the survey was given at the libraries, there are many explanations for why the survey results would not correlate to the books checked out at the library. If citizens “prefer” a certain type of book, maybe they prefer it enough to own it themselves, and would thus not need to check it out at the library. Also, some literary classics are mystery novels, so there is overlap in the data that could be explored. Most importantly, we don’t know all the options in the survey. Maybe there were very general options, and mystery novels were not specifically included. We just don’t know if the survey included the same types of books on which data was gathered from the library check out records. More information is needed about the survey and the data gathered from library records in order to know if a case can be built against the survey respondents. It is thought provoking that the survey results didn’t line up with library user habits, but examination of survey and data collection methods is necessary before a strong argument can be made.

The author makes an assumption that the library check out records are representative of the population of citizens as a whole. This assumption is faulty, because citizens could still be reading books, or have “preferred” books, even without using the library. The author could strengthen his argument by determining if the population of library users is representative of the population of citizens as a whole. Demographic data showing the commonalities between the two populations could buttress his argument.

Not only is the author assuming the library sample is representative of the citizen population, he is assuming that the survey respondents are not representative. Depending on how the survey was administered, it could actually be more representative. If the survey was equally available to all citizens, it would be more representative of their interests than using data from only library users. The author could strengthen his argument by explaining why the library records are a better representation of citizen literary interest than the quite possibly more widely available survey.

The author is correct in thinking that something isn’t adding up here, but his quick assumption that survey respondents misrepresented themselves is without merit. Examining the reason for the different results would give a clearer picture of the true literary interest of the citizens, but to discount the first data simply because the second was different is not supported by logic. Additional information about how the survey was administered, and to whom, would provide insight into the situation.