In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument concludes that "the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading habits." This may be true, but in order to completely evaluate this argument, we need more evidence. This essay tries to explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Firstly, in the second study researchers found that " the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel" this raises the question that is whether the libraries have literary classic books. It is possible that public libraries in Waymarsh have not literary classics books or mystery books in public libraries are more and varied than literary classics book, so the average of who checked out mystery novels of public libraries are more than who borrow classic books. If we had evidence that the libraries in Waymarsh had not literary classics books, it would weaken the argument.

Secondly, the author state that in a study "most respondents said that they preferred literary classics as reading material." Whether conduct more research about reading habits of Waymarsh citizens or not. Because it is possible that one research was unreliable or invalid. For example, it may personal object of researcher effects on the study. If we had evidence that lots of studies conducted on this subject and had the same result, it would strengthen the argument.

finally, are any evidence about the type of book that frequently bought in Waymarsh. It is possible that respondents did not like checked out a book from public libraries in Waymarsh and prefer to buy the book. If we had evidence that the type of book most frequently bought in Waymarsh was the mystery novel, it would strengthen the argument.

In summary, we need more evidence to completely understanding of strength and weakness of the argument. evidence such as results of more studies, availability of all type of books in the library and the rate of bought books in Waymarsh, all are needed to assess the argument.