SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's current headquarters. Moreover, Middleburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument asserts that SuperCorp's decision of moving its headquarter to Corporateville from Middlesburg is best. Though, the author has given several reasons to support his point, but the claim made by him is specious.

There are still many assumptions on which the argument is based. First, the author states that according to the survey employees of SuperCorp do not prefer to stay in an urban area and Coporateville is comparatively more urban, but the author has failed to take into account the various factors that matters. For example the climatic conditions of Corporateville, we have no clue about the weather conditions there, it could be a torrid region or frigid one. Hence, the author should consider the climate of CorporateVille, whether it is suitable for the employees of SuperCorp or not.

Second, the author says that the Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, but says nothing about the cost of living in Corporateville. There could be a possiblity that cost of living is very high in Corporateville in compared to the Middlesburg, then in that case, SuperCorp's decison of moving its headequater from Middlesburg to Corporateville is not a best and wise one.

Third, the author asserts that Corporateville is a safer place to work, but does not talk about the crime rate in the city, nor does he talk about the average number of accidents that occur in the city. We can not conclude that Corporateville is a safer place to work than Middlesburg without comparing the number of accidents and crime reports in the both the cities.

Lastly, the author has not mentioned about the people staying in Corporateville, we do not know whether they are friendly and warm or rude and boorish, whether they are spendthrift or frugal. Hence the author of the argument should have considered the about the people living in Corporateville.

Thus, because of the aforementioned points, author’s claim that the SuperCorp’s decision of moving its headquarter from Middlesburg to Corporateville is flawed.