"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved two years ago by McAdam Road Builders, is now badly cracked and marred by dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. Appian Roadways has recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery, and it has hired a new quality-control manager. Because of its superior work and commitment to quality, we should contract with Appian Roadways rather than McAdam Road Builders to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls

According to the author the contract of building of all the new shopping malls should be given to Appian Roadways since the section of Route 101 paved two years ago by McAdam Road builders is now badly cracked and is full of dangerous potholes and on contrary to this a section of Route 66, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago is in a very manageable condition. Along with their everlasting work the author mentions that Appian Roadways has recently purchases state-of-art paving machinery and it has hired a new quality-control manager.Finally the author from all the mentioned inidents concludes that Appian Roadways has superior work and commitment to quality. The argument is plagued with logical flaws that fails to convience the reader that the conclusion is justified.

Firstly the author mentions that the work of Appian Roadways is of better quality than McAdam Road Builders since their work after four year was in good condition than two year work of McAdam Road Builders. A careful scrutiny of the given argument will reveal numerous fallacies that make the given point non appealing, Author compares two different roads built at two differnt locations and for different times. The comparison of Section 101 and Section 66 is not legitimate since they are built at different location, It is possible that the usuage of road is different and hence the damage produced over the time has been different, the author has not mentioned anything about this fact. For instance Section Route 66 is a residential road or Section Route 101 is a highway or a very busy road and therefore no heavy vechial travel through 66 and section 101 faces a lot damage due to heavy load. In that case it is very unfair to compare the damage produced in the two roads.

Secondly, another point that the author as mentioned that Appian Roadways has recently purchsed state-of-the-art paving machinery and it has hired a new control manager. This point is providing no support that Appian Roadways should be selected for giving the contract of building of shopping malls, there can be some companies already having all the needed machines to build a shopping malls.

A shopping mall along with optimum use of space and needs to be attractive so that more people are drawn towards it. Whenever a contract is given to a company for building a shoppnig mall, the histroy of the work done by the company should be looked into. The author has not mentioned anything about the past record of both the companies building shopping mall. The only thing author has mentioned is there history of building of roads which is no parameter of comparsion. Also considering the fact that a company building roads must not be intrested in building shopping malls, therefore author must look for compaines which build shopping malls have a record of building it before, so that there work can be adjudged and proper descions can be made.

Hence, all the points that author has mentioned doesn't support his conclusion and thus must be recaluclated and then only final resulted should be made.