Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author presents a text, in which the results of two approaches to study a certain culture are compared. In this discussion the decision of the investigator that used the second method to invalidate the first method’s conclusions is posed, followed by the exposition of the recommendation of some anthropologists, that in order to have accurate information on the practices of the culture that is being studied, further research should be conducted using the second method. The way this recommendation is reached is incompletely addressed; hence, it raises several questions regarding its validity:

Could it be that the temporal circumstances of the studies are different? Would, if positive, mean a change in Tertian culture? Indeed, it should be noted that there is a chronological discrepancy when comparing both studies. Dr. Field’s study, the first one, was conducted twenty years before the Dr. Karp’s. Although twenty years might not seem like a lot of time, one should note that in the past two decades our lifestyle has changed deeply: the advent of smartphones, internet or growing globalization are examples of how much society can change in such a small time interval; likewise, there has also been a deep impact in the basis of the culture of populations all over the world, such as in Mediterranean countries, where a major change has been the shift, or perhaps the accentuation of an already existing tendency, towards a more individual-centered society in detriment of a family-centered society. Bearing this in mind, it is easy to imagine that Tertian culture might have changed over the past 20 years. This should be properly addressed, as it might be key to explain the divergent results that are given. If there has been a marked change in Tertian culture the recommendation might not be right, as the difference might not be attributable to the different approaches, but to this circumstance.

But what if the approaches themselves were biased towards one results or another? It is important to bear in mind that the design of a study is one of the most, if not the most, important part of it. For example, clinical trials can result in widely divergent results if one measured the blood pressure of a patient after a certain drug was administered, or asked what he or she felt her blood pressure was. This example shows that the date obtained by interviewing the children could differ significantly from what can be observed from the outside, as they might be reared by an entire village but spend more time with their biological fathers and feel more attached to them. An observational study could exaggerate the former and an interview-based study could do same with the latter. So if the studies’ approaches are indeed biased, the recommendation would not be reasonable.

Even if these questions were answered in a way no temporal or methodological difference would be to blame for the differences that are reported there would still be one question that needs answering to determine how judicious Dr. Karp’s conclusion and the recommendation that appears to stem from it is reasonable and should be embraced. This question is central to science: Have these results been replicated by other means? If by using other methodologies (such as interviewing the parents of the children) or even with the same approaches that have already been used, consistent results are obtained, pointed either to Dr. Field’s or Dr. Karp’s, then and only then, from a solid ground, one could decide about whether the recommendation (and of course, the conclusion), is correct.