Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Real estate is not every person's cup of tea. If you have the good hap and clever thinking, you are sure to shimmer in this business. The above argument provides one such excerpt from the real estate business. Undoubtedly, based on the numbers provided, Adams Realty is surpassing Fitch Realty in every way. Be it the number of estate agents or the revenue. But, one drawback in this detail is that, there is no elaboration of the qualities of the estate agents. Nevertheless, the number of estate agents under Adams are more than under Fitch but it is possible that many of them are still amateurs and experienced agents are only countable in number. Also, its mentioned that out of the 25 agents under Fitch, most of them are part-time agents. This in any way does not highlight the popularity of Adams. There is a possibility that the part time agents are highly experienced and have the capability of handling any task and completing it on time.

Secondly, the author has not taken an equalized comparison into consideration. He states that he listed his home with Fitch 10 years ago and it took 4 months to sell whereas with Adams it was just last year and it took only one month. Agreed that Adams' revenue was twice as high as that of Fitch last year but the author has not mentioned about the duration taken by Fitch to sell homes last year. 10 years ago and 1 year ago is no means of comparison.

Another detail that has not been mentioned in the argument is the kind of home being sold. It is not always possible to sell a home which is perfect in every way. In this way, it can be said that the estate agents have a hawk-eye vision and can guide appropriately . Possibly, the kind of house being listed for selling 10 years ago needed a modification as suggested by the agent and the author might not have agreed to it which could be a possible reason for the delay. Hence, when he listed his home for selling last year, he was aware of the consequences and he might have taken the necessary steps before selling.

Without these facts being answered, it is not possible to blindly go with the experience of the author. Others might have had positive experiences with Fitch which is not mentioned here. Hence, the argument fails to convince the reader as to why Adams Realty must be the preferred choice.