"Two years ago, our consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage

disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, town

residents have been recycling twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous

years. Next month the amount of material recycled should further increase, since charges for

garbage pickup will double. Furthermore, over ninety percent of the respondents to a recent

survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our residents' strong

commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer

than predicted."

The Author of this memo concludes that the West Egg residents are strongly committed to recycling because of which the available space in West Egg's landfill should last for longer than what is predicted by consultants.To support this conclusion the author cites that the amount of recycling done by town residents is doubled in last two years and since the charges for garbage pickup will be doubled, the material recycled by West Egg residents will further increase.However, the author argument lies on several doubtful assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First,It is quite possible that aluminum and paper account for only some of the materials West Egg residents can recycle.Perhaps recycling of other recyclable material such as plastic and glass to th e point that the total amount of recycled materials has also declined.If so then the mayor could hardly justify the claim that West Egg's residents are becoming more committed to recycling.

Secondly, the author conclusion relies on the assumption that in the future the material recycled will increase due to increase in charges of garbage pickup.Whereas it is possible that their is no impact of this on the West Egg residents, they might be ready to pay the double charges for garbage pickup.The author’s projection also ignores the possibility that number of town residents will increase in the future, thereby resulting in increase in amount of garbage regardless of whether the garbage pickup charges is increased.Without taking into account these possibilities, the author cannot persuade me that recycling or garbage will increase in the future.

Finally, the author fails to assure me the survey results accurately reflects the desires of the most residents, Without evidence that the respondents desires are representative of those of overall population of West Egg residents it is hasty to draw a conclusion that West Egg residents are strongly committed to recycling.Moreover author provides no information about the number of respondents they had surveyed, the fewer respondents, the less reliable the study results.

In Conclusion,the argument is unconvincing as it stands,to strengthen it the mayor should provide evidence of aluminum and paper form what percentage of total recyclable material and the amount of trash is decreasing or increasing.To strengthen the argument the mayor should provide evidence of expected change in town population.Also,evidence of number of respondents in survey they have conducted, the demographic details of the respondents.