Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent s

The station manager of KICK recommends that KICK should include more call-in advice programs if it wants to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. To substantiate his recommendation, he mentions the success of another radio station WCQP by increasing the number of call-in advice programs two years ago, with the consequence of increment in the number of radio audience. What's more, he uses a nationwide survey, which concludes that many radio listeners are interested in call-in advice programs, to prove the validity of his recommendation. At first glance, this recommendation may seem quite plausible. With further analysis, however, there are quite a few logical fallacies hidden in the argument, making this recommendation totally unsound.

In the first place, the manager suggests a false cause and effect relationship in talking about the success of WCQP. He thinks that the success of WCQP in the increment of the radio audience is because of its decision to increase the number of call-in advice programs. Nonetheless concluding this cause and effect relationship just based on the time sequence of the events is absolutely incredulous. It is highly possible that the increment of the radio audience is due to its radio program called "Weekend Country Music" attracts more radio audience. Without solving this question, to attribute the success of WCQP to call-in advice programs is highly doubtful.

Secondly, even if this is the case, the success of WCQP doesn't mean that the same prescription in KICK will work as well since they are located in different places. Maybe people's life in Rockville is not very well and they live in stress or pains, longing for advice from someone to help them improve their current awful life while the people in Medway live a healthy and happy life, which means they do not need any advice from anyone at all. If the manager cannot answer this question about whether there will be discrepancy in the two places, the success WCQP means nothing to KICK.

Last but not least, it is a huge mistake to cite a nationwide survey in order to prove that the recommendation is valid. It is common knowledge the nationwide survey stands for an average level of interests of radio listeners. The fact that many radio listeners like call-in advice programs must not be applied to a specific place, Medway, since the situation in Medway could be an outlier in the survey. Had the manager give any data or analysis about the common flavor of radio listeners in Medway, the recommendation would have been more valid.

To sum up, unless the manager can give perfect answers to the questions such as the true reasons of the success of WCQP, the possibility of discrepancy in WCQP and KICK, flavour of radio audience in Medway and so on, I won't be convinced by this doubtful recommendation.