Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the KICK manager recommendation of imitating WCQP strategy and include more call-in shows seems plausible at first, once the arguments presented by him are analyzed deeper we encounter flaws and lack of evidence to strengthen said recommendation.

First, the author of the recommendation presents the enlargement of share of the radio audience since the call-in advice programs augmented, but he does not give any quantification about this increase, making it ambiguous to determine if it is significant enough. A well-documented report about the actual increase of the share would fortify his point. On the same issue, the author fails to contemplate other possible reasons for this increase in share of radio audience, which could obey to some other factors, such as some of the stations competing with the WCQP shut down, or that the station aggregated other successful shows.

Second, the author also cites the results of a nationwide survey which indicates that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs. Nonetheless, the conclusion based on these results is completely unsupported, and the author pauperizes its claim by not substantiating exactly how many listeners are interested. Moreover, the term “quite interested” is relative and does not sustain the point made, since “quite interested” could not assure that the people claiming this will be part of the audience. Also, one has to remember that this survey was nationwide and perhaps Medway listeners did not participate in it, making it not applicable to the city.

Finally, the author does not presents a throughout comparison between Rockville and Medway, impairing his conclusion that the same strategy would work in both cities. The author would need to present a complete report between both cities characteristics, such as population, tastes in radio shows, percentage of population that listens to the radio, and a survey that provides how many of those listeners would listen to a call-in advice program, in order to justify this comparison. And even when both cities are similar in all the factors mentioned above, it does not guarantee that this strategy would be successful.

In conclusion, the author needs to justify his arguments by presenting strong and well-organized evidence that helps him to prove that not only the call-in programs are the reason of the success of Rockville’s station, but also that both cities are similar enough to establish that the same strategy will succeed in Medway.