Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent s

The preceding argument assumes that radio station KICK in Medway would improve its audience into larger amount by including more call-in advice programs. The recommendation is inspired by the success of another radio station WCQP in Rockville, which has applied the same method for ascending its audience numbers. The argument is not entirely logically convincing since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that radio station KICK by including more call-in service programs would improve its audience because radio station WCQP in Rockville has increased its audience by extending its call-in advice programs; however, it does nothing to explain how this will happen. For example, maybe the increasing of the amount of audience in radio station WCQP has improved coincidentally at the same time that they applied their new plan, increasing call-in programs, and the exact reason of the rising the audience amount was just due to increasing the number of population during that years. So it should be stated that the number of audience in Rockville have raised during that years with approximately the same amount of the population in the same time.

Another problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that Rockville is identical to Medway in all respects. However there is no evidence to prove that this is the case. Maybe the dominant race in Rockville is consist of adolescent while in Medway the most part of the population is consist of elderly. Or maybe there is a special condition in Rockville, in which the demand for in-call advice programs is in high rate, but this program might be not interested even boring in Medway. Hence, the writer should first clarify the similarities among the races in both location, to be nearly in a same range, and also survey about the rate of demands for that special program in both cities.

Finally, even supposing the population in Rockville have not increased during that time, and both cities are in same conditions, the argument still depends on the nationwide survey’s method. Maybe the survey has just conducted among the people who are interested in the program; in other words, the survey have not declared the rate of people who are interested in program and who are not interested in that. Or even, maybe nationwide survey is a beneficiary advertisement plan just to exaggerating the result to persuade people in that special program, and it is not reliable. The writer should more explain about the validity of the nationwide survey, and also should state more detailed information about the process of surveying.

In final analyzes, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence in support of the recommendation that increasing in-call program in radio station KICK does little to prove that recommendation, since it does little to address the assumptions already raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthen if the weaknesses already referred to are all removed.