“When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable

than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and

conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve

profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all

employees.”

The argument that Apogee company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single locations as this measure would improve profitability by cutting down the costs and helping the company by maintaining better supervision of all employees fails to mention some important points which are required to affirm the argument. There can be multiple reasons for lower profit such as tough market conditions and higher discounts because of new competitor in the market. So simply stating that moving back to centralization would improve profitablity is not a valid argument.

Argument states that profitability will be increased by cutting cost and having a better supervision of all the employees, but lower profitability might be because of tough economic conditions. As we know that recession in 2008 effected mostly all of the businesses and their profits. However, this centralization might be a temporary measure to increase the profitability, but in long term this might be detrimental to overall growth of the company as company won't be able to expand to other locations without having field offices. Also, argument fails to mention whether this centralization will help to get the profit at the same level as it were Apogee Company had all its operation in one location. It might be the case that centralization will increase profit by some marginal percentage compared to profits when company had all the operations in one location. For example earlier profit might be 10Million and now it is 2Million and centralization can increase profit to only 3Million. Hence, there is some other reason for decline in the profit. Company needs to look at other factors before taking this decision.

Also, company profit might be decreased because company has opened field offices at different location which are required for future growth of the company and in short term these may increase the overall expenditure of the company, hence effecting the profit. So it is not prudent to close these office. Company should look at long term effect of these office on its profit before closing them. These offices might have short term effect on profit, but will increase the profit of the company substantially after some years.

Argument states a correlation between supervision of employees and the profit without explaining how this will effect the profit. Usually, employees are supervised by their managers so even if all the employees are at one location that doesn't mean that they will be supervised differently. Employees will be still supervised by their respective managers. Hence, argument should provide how there will be better supervision and how it will effect the overall profit of the company.

Because the argument fails to take into consideration various factors as mentioned above it is not a sound and logical argument. Argument needs to take care of current economical conditions, long term growth prospective of the company, etc. to make the argument more sound and convincing.