Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a " Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim river from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument claims that woven baskets were believed to be made only by Palean people. However, the author assumes that it is a wrong statement because archaeologist discovered a "Palean" basket in another area where Paleans could not get as they needed a boat. The boat, however, was not found. So the writer makes a conclusion that these baskets were not made by only Palean people, which makes them not uniquely Palean. The argument may seem logical at first glance; however, the author fails to provide strong evidence, which causes to a groundless cause-effect reasoning.

To begin with, the author claims that firstly woven baskets were found only in the vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea; therefore, the baskets were believed to be made by the Palean citizens. This statement could have been correct; however, the writer never mentioned that archaeologists had already finished their research and come to a conclusion that it had been the only place where the baskets could have been found. Of course, the author writes later that the same baskets were found in another area. However, it is not enough to prove that the Palean people were not the only people who made such baskets. Moreover, it is possible that Palean people lived not only in the village of Palea but also in other places, which can explain why researchers found the baskets somewhere else. That's why the author's statement is rather doubtful. If the author had provided more information on the place Palen people had lived, and on scientists' research, his/her argument would have been more convincing.

Secondly, the author claims that ancient Paleans had no possibility to cross the river as there was no boat found. That is an unsupported assumption because many decades have passed; therefore, numerous events could have occurred. For instance, there could have happened a storm that may have destroyed boat. Or, maybe, the boat may be buried in the ground because the state of that place must have changed through ages. That's why the assumption that the boat has never existed is extreme because the writer never considers a possibility that the boat may have been crashed. If the author had provided relevant proof that there have been no storms during these ages, then his reasoning may have become convincing.

Finally, the author claims that the baskets were not uniquely Palean as they were found in another village, which was believed to be not Palean. This assumption could also have been correct; however, the author does not consider a scenario that Palen people could have sold their baskets to other nations. Maybe, people who lived in Lithos were Paleans trade partners. Then, this assumption can explain why the baskets were found in Lithos. If the author had proved that Palean people had had no relationship with Lithos citizens, his/her reasoning would have been way better.

In conclusion, it should be mentioned that the author's reasoning has several serious flaws that lead to unconvincing deductions despite his/her arguments seem convincing at first glance. The writer should provide more relevant information and add some essential details; otherwise, his/her argumentation will remain weak.