Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Baskets with a paritcular, and destinctive pattern were found in a village called Palea, and therefore were assumed to be made by the Palean people. Until recently, this conclusion made sense, but then some baskets with the same distinctive patterns were found in an ancient village called Lithos. Becaue there was no way that the Palean people could have traveled to Lithos, it must be concluded that perhaps the baskets weren’t made just by the Palean people and perhaps this design was not as exclusive as was previously believed. Though the logic behind these two statements seems sound at first, there is a lot that is being assumed here, and there is not necessarily evidence for each of these assumptions.

First, it must be assumed that if these baskets were made exclusively by the Paleans, then the Paleans themselves would have had to have brought the baskets to Lithos themselves. This isn’t necessarily true. The village of Palea and the village of Lithos are seperated by a deep, large river called the Brim River, and the argument is that the Palean pepole, could not have crossed that river with those baskets and brought them to Lithos. Maybe the Palean’s didn’t cross the river, but perhaps some of the baskets did. A basket could have been lost, stolen or simply swept up during a storm, been carried by the river, and could have washed up on the shore in Lithos. If any evidence of this scenario could be found, then it is possible that these baskets were exclusively made by the Palethean people. Artifacts can, will, and have travelled to other lands with out the hands of people.

Second, it must be assumed that the Palean people had no way to cross the river with their baskets. This assumption is based on the absence of evidence of a boat. Just because no boat was found, doesn’t mean the Palean people didn’t once have a boat. Evidence of an ancient ship wreck, could be hiding somewhere in the village of Lithos, or perhaps it sunk to the bottom of the wide and deep Brim River. But the lack of evidence that something existed, does not necessarily mean it didn’t exist.

Third, and tied closely to the first two assumtions, is that the Paleans had to have brought the baskets to Lithos, but that might not be true. Maybe at some point another ancient tribe happened on a basket or two and took the baskets with them on their travels and ended up in Lithos. Perhaps the travelers weren’t ancient. If these baskets were found recently, then it’s very possible that tourests, or those working on boats on the river might have taken a basket in Palea and left it in Lithos. Just because an artifict is found and believed to be native to one area, and is then found in another, doesn’t mean that object wasn’t once exclusive to that area.

A basket is a potentially small and light artifact. Perhaps if a pyramid was found in one area, and the very same style of pyramid was found in a nother area, it could be argued that said pyramid wasn’t made exclusively by one tribe of people. Pyramids can’t be picked up and moved by nature, or a a person. Palean baskets on the other hand, could have a way of migrating to another area, while still exclusively originating in Palea.