Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author goes on stating that woven baskets were previously found only at places very nearby to the Palea village and they were believed to be made by the people there. But there are possibilities of trade or barter systems the prehistoric village dwellers could have involved themselves in, that we cannot rule out. The baskets were characterized by certain unique patterns that could have impregnated them with an aesthetic sense. Thus, the people of Palea might have involved in trading or bartering others commodities for these special woven baskets with various communities.

Archaeologists had found one such basket at Lithos village till date. This cannot rule out chances that they may not find similar items at other places, if explored. Moreover, finding only a solitary basket at Lithos does not bolster the author's claim. Had there been substantial data showing us that similar baskets were found at other places could we have strongly stated that they are not entirely Palean.

River Brim,as described by the author, was substantially deep and wide that hindered people from Palea to cross over to the other side,Lithos. The writer's next mistake is to assume that since no Palean boats were found, they could not have crossed the river whatsoever. No where is it stated that the people of Lithos too did not have means of transportation cross Brim.. People on both sides of the river might have traversed or exchanged goods if the Litho village had boats.

The author's claim that the distinctive baskets were not entirely Palean could have been strengthened if he had provided data as well as other findings paramount to this issue. He had overlooked certain facts such as the trade relations between the two villages and the possibility of existing transport facilities. Had he considered the findings of more archaeologists on this issue or the probability of finding the articles to places beyond Lithos and Palea, the argument would have been far more persuasive.