1) The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Over centuries the pace of life is increasing but over previous two decades it has increased exponentially. The author claims the increasing pace of life has done more harm than good. I would partially agree with the author and would explore some of its positive aspects also.

As the saying goes, “Excess of anything is bad”, the same applies to pace of life. The more we earn, the greater we need to think about its security. The way of living has changed significantly over years. The advancement in technology is the major factor propagating this growth. 50 years ago, our ancestors would have never imagined the life scenario we are into. The changed lifestyle, fooding habits, daily routine, expectations, values everything has changed . If we wonder over it, we ourselves would be amazed to assess the degree of change. When we were younger, i.e if we go a generation backward, we will find that life was simple and happy as compared to now. Though facilities were also less but the satisfaction level in people were more.

At the same time they say, “If change is the source of your growth, why not change”. Change is always for moving forward and towards better. The technology itself is solely responsible for rapid change, it has increased facilities for us, a better education, globalization, industrialization and better modes of transport and communication. In today speedy life, we are all in a constant race of defeating our opponents and have a better quality of living. Striving for growth is good, but we must keep our cultural values intact. We would not be able to handle multiple jobs easily without computers and world wide web, they have made our lives super convenient and accessible for all. We can instantly handle multiple conferences at same time . We can book a cab on click of a button. However, this convenience and comfort is counterbalanced by the ill effects of it. Stress and no time for relaxing are major issues people face due to increased pace of life. Also, relationships today are more of a web based bonding rather than personal and emotional attachment.

The physical ailments, sedentary diseases have increased for working hours sitting in their offices. Also, the average life expectancy has decreased over years. For examples, mobile phones are biggest boon of technology but at the same time, it is also a cause of much unwanted stress. The advent of social media has increased our number of friends but decreased our bonding with our close friends. Rather than meeting someone in person we today prefer to have video chat or a whatsapp call. The fast pace of life has reduced cohesion in society. However, in professional areas, where we need to deliver a task within given period, we need things at one touch and one click so that we can meet up our timelines. The benefit fast pace of life has that it has increased the potential that can be extracted from an individual.

To sum the argument, the increasing pace of life has created problems but not in totality. It has also alleviated many problems with help of technology.