152. The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With rapid development in human history, environment around us have been deteriorated due to extravagant amount of wastes. Surly, throughout many cities, dirty wastes on streets became serious problems for aesthetic and hygienes hindering general well-being of people. The statement asserts that to limit the amount of trash for each household is the best way to solve environmental problems caused by man-made waste. However, this assertion cannot be cogent enough for the best way because it is not the fundamental solution to deal with waste.

The basic theory behind this assertion is that when government limit the amount of waste allowed for each household, people would try to reduce waste and spend less. However, if the amount of waste designated for each house falls below the current amount of averaged waste made by each household, people inevitably have to find alternatives to expose the excessive waste such as illegal dumping on the street at night. This behaviors only exacerbates the matter and counteracts for what government intended for adopting limiting waste policy. Furthermore, this would result in private services against the law such as a service company requiring high amount of fee and process the waste by littering on barren areas or the ocean.

Admittedly, the alternatives to deal with excessive wastes can be effective solutions. For example, new corporation providing waste-disposal services with eco-friendly or biological decomposition technologies would shed light on solving current way of waste disposal. Yet we cannot expect that expensive technology would captivate people's mind. Therefore, people would try to find cost-effective ways to make the residue cleaned, and this cannot guarantee the proper method or what government expected people to reduce the amount of waste.

Rather, government should follow wise method from other countries. Taiwan, for instance, adopted a waste-collecting trucks which rander around villages allowing citizen only to dump waste on the truck. If only people buy a certified wastebag from markets, it is allowed to dump the waste into the truck as much as they can. This was first adopted when Taiwan is preparing for a huge international meeting a decade ago since hygiene and city landscape was marred by street dumps. Consequently, Taiwan government successfully cleaned up the waste and improved city environment simultaneously.

In conclusion, without considering circumstances and suggesting proper policy but limiting the amount of waste cannot be the best way to deal with environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste. Government officials have to ponder what can be the most pertinent approach to solve the problem without causing side-effects.