16. Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Since political leaders are in charge of executing significant policies of a nation, it is important role to be an effective leader. Therefore it is debatable whether a leader easily compromise his/her principle toward the public is recommendable or a leader strictly committed to his/her own rules is. When considering the indicator of assessing effective leaders, I believe the achievements can be crucial and not vacillating leaders tend to beget better achievements.

Political leaders are expected to improve the general well-being of a country’s people. Therefore, leaders should put high priority in seizing current issues and suggesting relevant solutions in forms of introducing or amending policies. Nowadays, youth unemployment rate is rising and it has been considered as major driver hampering economic sustainability. In this situation, any political leaders, regardless of their main goals in their political career, have to involve in implementing pertinent solutions to resolve imminent crisis.

However, to keep changing political principle can result in detrimental consequences as political career path. Currently, a vast majority of politicians are registered to specific political parties like Hillary Clinton run for president election as a representative of Democratic Party and Donald Trump for the Republican Party in the US. Politicians involved in specific political party have to pursue policies which align to their political norms. When a politician deviates from his/her party with anomalous remarks on some policies based on personal thoughts, it would result in diminished power over the other parties as well as losing own supporters. Consequently, this would result in losing in presidency election and losing a grand opportunity to achieve more as a national leader for five years.

Additionally, many politicians remembered and respected for a long time among people have a strong achievement based on relentless and strong belief in his/her principles. Kim Dae-jung, the first and only laureate of Nobel Peace Prize in South Korea, is well-known for his arduous work intended to alleviate tensions between North and South Korea. His long concerns for human rights, unification of two countries were often attacked from the opposite political parties and even citizens for supporting Communism and spending tremendous amount of money to North Korea. However, his work eventually contributed to accomplishing family meeting who left each other in Korean War and this contribution was praised from worldwide.

In conclusion, for political leaders to achieve more to become effective leaders, it is recommendable to stick to their own principles and proceed with relentless hard work. Yet the principles should be contributed to the well-being of general people of their own.