40. Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education system in modern era usually disparaged for their obsolete contents which keep deteriorating interests for students. In this stance, it is understandable that some people argue that educators should consider what students are interested and what they expect to learn. In large, listening to students' idea and consider those ideas into educational courses can be beneficial since it can effectively contribute to trigger students of learning and adopt state-of-art contents into education. Yet we should not overlook the opposite consequences of adopting students' idea.

Admittedly, when educators try to listen to their students and what they expect to learn from them, it can result in making diverse fascinating courses that most students want to involve in. As many young students feel reluctant to make romantic relationships and get married, a course called 'Marriage and Life' is opened in many universities in Korea. Students hailed the course and whenever students try to put the course in their schedule before the first day of school, they failed to take the course due to high competitiveness. According to the lecturers who devised the courses mentioned that the course is full of passionate students and the accomplishment rate of assignments is conspicuous from many other psychology classes.

Additionally it can motivate the educators to attract students since many of courses are archaic to contemporary students and give little meaning to them. Carefully listening to what students want to learn and achieve, an educator can find an alternative approach to plan courses which would gather students passionate for the course. For instance, a computer lecturer in a college has taught a course involving statistical programs such as SAS or SPSS. However those programs are rarely used and considered obsolete in modern labs so students were dull at the class. Therefore it can be helpful for some forthcoming students to advise the teacher to develop a course learning R or Python, which are actively adopted in recent studies and entrepreneurs as well.

Nevertheless, educators need to aware not to plan the courses entirely dependent on student’s interest. Since some student can demand various courses which would intended to satiate their personal entertainment. It is possible that many students feel annoyed to advanced academic courses, so they can suggest some entertaining courses such as singing or dancing only to spend enjoyable time at school. Although adopting entertainment courses can liberate some burdened students or talented students, making reckless and shallow courses only harm meaningful learning overall.

In conclusion, educators can encourage students to involve in learning more actively and expect effective learning when they consider what students want to learn. At the same time, educators should be vigilant to some negative results such as reckless courses giving nothing meaningful in their learning.