93. Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Like other animals, being appealed by beautiful image is the innate ability of human being, since outstanding image is the symbol of stronger ability to give birth, or higher gene quality. Unlike other animals, in contemporary society, people would also judge a fact or a person according to its inner part rather than only to its image. Although an appealing image is important, the substance of a person is also crucial.

At the first place, there is no doubt that an appealing image is a kind of advantage, for the reason that people would like to pay more attention to the appealing image. For example, the beautiful women are not only successful in attracting young boys, but also have a greater chance to get good job. A beautiful image of a certain product can attract more people, and thus people are more likely to explore the substance of this product. In other word, if a product possesses a more appealing image, it would have a greater possibility to show its value. Thus, to show the true value of the substance of something, the most convenient way is giving this thing an appealing image.

However, the judgement of something depends on its inner part, or its reality rather than only on its image. Even though the appealing image can bring something more attention, if its inner part is vacuous, its value would be lower than the same thing with an excellent substance. Admittedly, a more attractive image would attract some attention, which would cause some illusion that the image is more important than truth. Nevertheless, the people are attracted just because the appealing image may represent a possible outstanding reality behind it. Therefore, the truth or reality behind the image is neglected and overlooked, the appealing image is meaningless and not attractive any more.

Whether the image or the substace is more important depends on how much value they could bring. For the things whose reality is useless, such as garment, the appealing image is more meaningful. However, in most cases, the value of substance is more important than its appealing image. For example, although many people think the image of iPhone6 is less attractive than iPhone5, they would like to purchase iPhone6 because of its better operation system and higher quality. Therefore, it is hard to say which one, the image or the substance, is more important without specific circumstance.

In conclusion, even if the appealing image could bring more opportunities and more attention, the substance of something is also significant. Whether the former or the later is more crucial should be considered under different condition.