All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country

College and University students should be given an opportunity to learn at least one semester abroad. This step can provide a lot of exposure to college students. Every country has a different history, culture and style of living. By spending a year in some other country, students can learn about the differences and understand them much better , than just going through some reading materials about the same country.

Having a semester in some other country can help students of all fields. For instance, for the engineering students, universities organize field trips to the monumental building in the same city or country but, these trips are for a very short period which do not give much needed exposure to students, but if the student can spend a semester in a foreign country, he would learn a lot about the history behind the building structures over there. Monuments structures in different places are often based on different cultures or living styles and many other things that is related to the country , leaning them would help him widen his imagination and broaden his knowledge.

Same can be said about the Fashion Designing students, fashion is a way of life. How we dress up and what we wear mostly depends on our culture and the place we are living in. Exposure to different country way of living can help them understand more about the fashion choices in that country and understand what factors contributes to the fashion in that place.

Though , this step can be beneficial to the students , have some loopholes. It needs to check that if every student will be able to afford the expenses of studying in a foreign country for a semester. As India is a developing nation, the cost of living is low in India as compared to other countries like USA, and many students may not be able to afford the high cost required for this.At the same time, it is also required that the foreign universities agree for such arrangements.This could be also be given as a optional way. Students if can afford can chose for a course in foreign country otherwise attend the same in their university.