All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When educational institutions and teachers are deal with children and teaching them properly, it is usually recommended to involve parents to schools since parent participation can play favorable roles with children. However, the statement above asserting that it should be designed to make mandatory for all parents to work as volunteers overlooks the basic prerequisite for volunteering and negative consequences that might be shown among children.

When we first think of the original intention of this policy at schools, it is plausible to come up with several advantages. Parents, especially with jobs, can have a opportunity to care more about their children and to look around the educating environment and my children's classmates. This can be led to a sense of commitment to school environment and try to involve to provide services. Also parents can meet up with teachers and understand the recent issues among children and share those problems.

Nonetheless, the author neglects the virtue of volunteering work; it is based on personal willingness to participate. In spite of various advantages that taking part in works happening in children's schools, the work would become burdensome and onerous work deviated from original intention. Especially for working parents, it would be almost impossible to go volunteer work in daytime. For instance, when a working parent is required to participate in instructing lunchtime manners which indicates a parent should be arrived to school around noon, it is not plausible to run the volunteer work properly at all.

Second, imposing mandatory volunteer works to parents and inviting them to schools would result in detrimental consequences to some students under puberty periods, especially for underprivileged students. Calling for parents for student is a chance to show my parents to other peers and for a single-parent students, this would be a shameful occasion. Furthermore, if a teenager is under severe adolescent period, he/she would react sensitive to show their parents to classmates as well regardless of their parents' appearance or social status. Considering these possible cases, parents coming to volunteer at schools would only be harmful for students rather improving educational purposes.

In conclusion, requiring all parents to do volunteer work in their children's schools shows much counter-effects than benefits originally intended. Therefore it should be reconsidered to adopt the policy in schools thoroughly.