All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states that parents should spend part of their time to volunteer for their children’s schools. If parents followed this recommendation, they would have a direct control of the quality of their children’s life (that is mostly spent in school); moreover, the parent-child relationship would surely be improved.

Think about a mother that volunteers in school elections to be head of the parents’ council. From that position, she would have voice in solving the most practical problems of the school, such as the quality of some teacher’s education method, or the cleanness of the restrooms. These issues are not always faced by the school director and its council as they simply don’t live in the school day by day as the children do. Moreover, if one parent is directly involved in the school’s life in general, he or she can gain insight into an eventual problem that the child is facing – especially for silent issues such as bullying.

Another example of the benefits that following this recommendation could bring is the one of a parent that independently asks to be part of the school’s meal service. As children’s health is primarily granted by their eating patterns, a parent particularly keen on cooking and healthy eating could do such a relevant change to his or her child’s quality of life. This holds true especially for some elementary schools in the United States that offer meals of poor quality to their students.

One could argue – even after reading these examples – that a person who is constantly busy with work and does not materially have time to donate to his or her children’s school is thus a bad parent. While some people are not good at parenting in the general sense, it is clear that this recommendation holds true only when the parent has actually the possibility to follow it. In fact, even the most workaholic mother or father of an elementary-school student can give a solid contribution to the quality of the school by – for example – donating outdated or extra computers from the office that would otherwise be thrown away.

To conclude, school – especially at the lowest grades – is one of the most important factors in how a child will grow up. Therefore, it is duty of the parents to try to ensure, as much as they possibly can, that their children live in the best environment. While every school as its own problems and not everyone can be solved easily, parents should donate part of their free time to the institution; even when they are unable to do so, they surely should find material ways to help the school. Doing that would improve the quality of their children’s life and also strengthen their relationships.