All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Your task

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many times, different companies hire outside consultants to plan strategies leading to more efficient operations. However, the author objects this idea by saying that these consultants are unnecessary if the company listened to their own employees. In my opinion, this objections has few invalid assumptions and reasons.

First of all, a company comprises of a large group of people. All of them may not have same views about how company should operate efficiently. If the managing board asks for views from employees, there is a fair chance that it will result in a myriad of ideas which would all be different and may lead to conflicts and chaos. Company cannot accept each and every opinion and even if they try to consider some of the ideas, it would be difficult.

Secondly, professional consultants are trained to identify the ways to improve operations of their clients. They examine every aspect of operations taking place in the company and provide their insights to modify those operations to gain efficiency while also looking at the impacts these modifications will have on each department or section of the company. They would try to maximize efficiency of the company as a whole unit. On the other hand, employees from various departments have insights about their deparment only and may not be able to identify the consequenses of their ideas on the company as a whole.

Thirdly, hiring these consultants saves a lot of time of managerial board and the employees as they do not have to put in extra efforts to identify ways to improve efficiency of their company. The company can focus on their work while consultants would take care of planning strategies.

However, it would not make sense to completely ignore the views presented by employees and just accept whatever the consultants suggest as sometimes the consultants might have missed out on some important aspects which a regular employee would have easily pointed out. A company should ask their employees to present their views and try to amalgamate those with strategies planned by outside consultants wherever they are compatible to operate more efficiently.

Thus, for a company to operate more efficiently it would make sense to reconcile strategies planned by outside consultants with views presented by majority of employees as it would save a lot of time and energy, would have a mixture of an outsider's as well as an insider's ideas and would serve company as a whole more efficiently.