All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Companies always try their best to become better in this competitive world even going as far as to hiring consultants which will help them become more efficient and productive in their management and workflow. From a capitalistic standpoint, this is expected given that every company tries to get an edge over its peers as a way to attract customers thereby gaining more profit. This at times might seem unnecessary given that the employees who have been working at that company, understand the workflow and the culture of the company can provide such consultancy for no additional cost. Also, depending on their experience at the company, the level of depth in their suggestions for making the company more efficient is high, a consultant might take a few weeks to reach that level of knowledge regarding the company and then provide his/her consultancy.

Even though this is true, I would still argue that for a company it is beneficial to hire a consultant for outside than to rely on employees. Firstly, an outside consultant can interview the employees of the company, listen to their ideas and give his final consultancy with factoring the employees' inputs. This can be done in an impartial way, since an consultant hired from another company will be unbiased towards the company being it the management or the working employees. The consultant being paid for the services to be put in an unbiased way will try his/her best to be unbiased. An employee on the other hand may be biased to give the employees an upper hand in the negotiations given that they are the part of the company. This specific idea as well can be a key selling point for the consultancy companies, that is the consultants giving the most unbiased views and thinking primarily about making the company more efficient will get promoted and more desired by their clients and thereby promoting development and employment opportunities in society.

But if we assume that the employees are unbiased, then would consultants be unnecessary? Well, there's more to it. Consultants being in the field of consultancy have tremendous experience and knowledge regarding locating the specific cues which would be the hot-spots for improving the efficiency of the companies. Hot-spots that employees may not consider or even may not be aware of, since their field of work is much different from consulting. An experienced consultant may find these prime efficiency hot-spots in a few days while the employees may not even think of them for months. Overall, we can expect a person to be experienced in a specific field to do better than someone who is new to that field. Also, given that the consultancy firm from where the hiring is done, often wants to have their image kept to a high standard and have their consultants to be professionals and be impartial about their consultancy. Therefore, the client company can expect them to do their work properly and diligently while your own employees' opinions can be biased and they have nothing to lose for that. The consultancy company however has a reputation to hold and will make sure that malpractices do not occur by the hands of their consultants.

All in all, having a consultant to help you with your company is just one of the many ways you can improve your company in a capitalistic society. Yes, you have to pay the consultant meaning reduced profits however the efficiencies the consultant is able to make do, ultimately pays well in the long term. Having your employees suggest that does save money, but may or may not work in the long term. It is the perfect example of 'Short term pain but a long term gain'.