All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you are or disagree with the statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Recently, an increasing number of companies and organizations have started to employ external consultants. This is a subjective and controversial topic in nature, but a quick reflection of a few benefits of what they can bring to the table illutrates that the statement cannot be unconditionally supported.

One benefit of hiring an external consultrant is to allow an company to incorporate an objective eye that its own employees may not be able to provide. For instance, if a corporation wishes to review its HR policy to enhance its benefits, it is natural to assume that its own employees demand a higher level of compensation for the sake of their own . In order to assess the feasibility and unintended consequences of doing so, however, it would be advisable for the corporation to analyze what its competitors have done to remain competitive in the market. In this case, only listening to its employees could potentially lead to a skewed judgment due to the lack of attention to external factors. In this sense, external consultants who can provide an impartial analysis will be instrumental in better ensuring the success of such policy.

Additionally, external consultants have the potential to bring in knowledge and practice from different sectors, resulting in innovation. To give an example, it is common for an automobile company to hire external consultants with extensive experience in various sectors as a means to create innovative products. Hybrid cars are an exemplary product of combining the knowledge from the energy and electronics sectors. In this manner, consultants versed in multiple fields can generate ideas that lead to innovation.

Yet, while hiring an consultant is oftentimes a sound business strategy, we cannot go as far to argue that there is no risk associated with it. Realistically speaking, every organization has its own internal poltiics that outsiders cannot fully fathom. To illustrate, even if a consultant comes up with a groudbreaking product to attract a new market segment, there can be invisible force within the company that hampers the process of achieving it. Perhaps, the project manager of the company is not supported by his or her subordinates due to his or her abusive personality. With this caveat in mind, consultants should carefully understand and navigate this nature of internal office politics.

In summary, while there are arguments to be made for both sides, a quick analysis of the benefits of employing a consultant demonstrates that the presented statement does not always hold true. In spite of the potential lack of understanding of internal politics, working closely with a consultant who can not only provide an objective eye but also bring in multifaceted knowledge can be benefitial.