All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Consultancies thrive by helping out other organisations which face some trouble figuring out some tasks by themselves. One may wonder how it works this way as it may seem counter-intuitive at the first glance. The company's employees should be able to delineate and work out the exact issues that are being faced. And this would deem the consultancies worthless. However trends show exactly the opposite and there may be multiple reasons for the same. I agree that insiders should be able to mitigate situations efficiently however there are many more situations where external help is unavoidable.

Firstly, employees within the organisation often have an idea of what tasks are going on wrong or inefficiently. Managers may overlook the points highlighted by individuals or the employees themselves may be timorous in bringing out the same. Consider for example a hotel management group where the staff may be reluctant to share an idea which infact would prove beneficial to the operations of the management. However this isn't always necessary as ideas may turn out to be biased as they are coming up within the company.

Secondly, a company starts off with a dedicated vision and mission.The projects that they involve themselves in may also require knowledge and expertise on subjects outside of their scope. For the company employees to develop such knowledge it would take a much longer time and using some of the company resources to fund consultants often proves to be profitable. Such expertise is sought from external sources which are these consultancies. They comprise of multiple members with a strong knowledge in varied subjects that come of help to organisations in such predicaments.

Finally, an important point to consider is how deep the employees have buried themselves into the work. Sometimes tasks become so gruelling and involved that certain easy ways to solve a problem exist but can't be found easily. one requires an out of the box methodology for thinking or maybe just a new angle to look at the situation from to get a quick and easy fix.

Overall, consultant bring with them a host of advantages inclusive of a fair approach, new way of thinking and high expertise on the field which summed up override the intuitive notion that employees would have a better idea or solutions to help mitigate an issue.