All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

On first glance, the given issue issue might make one disagree with it, and make one suggest that paid help, in the form of these consultants, is the most efficient way to overcome problems, and to follow an effective path. But, on the contrary, these consultants are both expensive, and follow a strictly regimented procedure, with little room for adaptation.Companies, especially start-ups, should promote the practice, where the employees themselves bring up problems being faced, and take into consideration their opinions on a possible solution.

Firstly, with the given rising consultation charges, burdening the companies with added expenditures, it makes no sense in wasting much of the income on such services. Especially in the start-up culture, which is abounding in India, where many of them are barely able to break-even! More often than not, a major chunk of their income goes into consultation fees and what not. Hence, the least we could do for the sake of being cost effective, is to spend time absorbing the grievances and possible solutions which can be provided to us for no charge from our own employees!

Secondly, the employees of the company are the major backbone upon which several startups are reliant upon. They can truly provide us with the actual problems which are faced on-line and off-line. They can provide feedback, along with the possible fixes required to create a more effective business. The fact that they are the ones, working assiduously in the company, and know exactly what needs to be done, hence we can be sure they will give us the most ingenuous answers.

Finally, we can all agree that most employees strive towards rising in their ranks. Hence by providing sufficient incentives, we can be sure that most of them will give us their best efforts and come up with effective solutions, providing us with the best results.

A good analogy to remember would be that, just as an individual looks for ways to improve, he is likely to contemplate and look within himself, similarly, a company in the same predicament, must look within. For within its organization, are several talented employees, who are able to provide cost-effective and honest solutions. Trust them!