Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

The world has witnessed an unprecedented technological advancement in last few decades influencing every profession and area including education. The statement contends that while the technological innovations such as computers, videos and the internet apparently offer schools improved method of teaching, actually end up distracting students from meaningful learning. Though if not used judiciously and sensibly, technological aids can serve to divert from learning; otherwise their benefits, by far, outweigh their potential demerits.

Certainly, technological innovations have given new dimensions to pedagogy. The theory of ‘Learning pyramid’ states that mere use of audio visual aids can increase knowledge retention to 20% as opposed to 5% through lecture. When students are taught about historical events or characters through videos, animations and movies, not only the learning experience becomes interesting but it also helps students to retain information vividly. Moreover, understanding complex scientific concepts and ideas requires powerful imagination which may be lacking in some students. For example, understanding the structure of molecular orbitals or crystalline solids, given their three dimensional nature and complexities is not easy when explained through textbook schematics. 3D animations have made the task much easier for teachers to transfer such kind of knowledge and ideas to their wards. Simulation such as Urban Science, which is based on the reconstruction of the city of Wisconsin, Madison, allows students to experiment with their ideas for unlimited trials and errors and can considerably enhance their creativity.

Technological aids like computer and internet also improve teachers’ and students’ work efficiency thus giving them more time. For example, though in the past, assignments meant days of perusal in libraries and other knowledge resources for students, are now a matter of few hours thanks to ‘Google’. Students can use the saved time for leisure or other recreational activities thus preventing burnout; whereas teachers through audio-video lectures can save time to focus on designing projects and student counselling. Technology further enables students to learn at their pace and will, thus encouraging self-learning. Students can decide the content and its depth they want to learn. This increases their participation and hence learning. Beyond classroom teaching, the benefits of innovations extend to a global scale in the form of online teaching. From high school students to graduate scholars, all can defy the geographical boundaries to avail affordable or free education at home. While, MIT’s open course software is providing world-class education to college freshmen; Khan Academy is enlightening school students for free.

However, misuse of technology, like in any other case, can also impede learning. Students can always be distracted while browsing the internet by their favourite movie, game or adult content. Such a potential demerit, therefore, must be controlled using OpenDNS-type website blocking software. Some may argue that novelty of innovations may be too appealing and distracting for students to focus on studies. However, such fascination usually wanes with time. Similarly, teachers must not over rely on technology to save their work and efforts for every subject including language, music, painting, etc. Whether it is public speaking, subtleness of word pronunciations or craft skills, nothing can be more effective than personal face-to-face instructions for such topics. Teachers must also ensure the classroom atmosphere should not become passive either on their part or on students’, though intermittent interactions and discussions.

In the final analysis, the statement overlooks the myriad psychological and tangible benefits that innovations have brought to the learning process. It has not only provided enhanced learning in the schools but also to the multitude across the globe though virtual classrooms. While non judicious and non-regulated use of innovations may be harmful for students, their advantages are too many to concur with the statement.