Although innovations such as videos, computers, and internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students,these technologies all too often distract from real learning

Welcome to the twenty first century where technological advancements is replete. With gadgets everywhere, we cannot say it is a great distraction for students as it distracts them from studying their books to say the least. How ever the importance of videos, computer and the internet cannot be undermined. In fact they do more good than harm when not misused.

A great man once said that "read without play, makes jack a dull boy" this phrase is self explanatory. The human brain works better when it has rested after tedious mental exercise. This so called gadgets and internet assist in providing that relaxation that the brain needs. However when misused it could prove deleterious. In a personal experience, while in college after such a stressful day at school, i usually take use playstation gaming console to cool off before taking on my assignments and study and it proved effective in making me in the right mental state to study.

Secondly, students use the internet to help them with certain assignment and study materials that could be tougher to find in the library. In a world where people offer degrees, masters and phd programs via internet, one cannot underestimate the importance of internet to students,as it serves as a platform between lecturers and the students that are too busy to make it to college maybe due to their work schedule or perhaps due to how far they stay from the school. Hence they can connect to their lecturers through skype and other internet based video calls.

Thirdly, this is not to say using this tools aforementioned would only provide positive yields. some students now spend so much more time on their phones and laptops than they spend on study. Further more with the availability of social networks on the web in surfeit such as facebook, twitter etc, you can spend so much hours on them without knowing it.

lastly, the issue of plagiarism is at its apogee now than ever. In a personal experience i have had friends who had their GRE AWA rejected due to plagiarism accusations, also during my college days some certain students once given assignments would go online and copy and past what someone has done relating to that field and summit without referencing the source. High internet access have made the number of people who engage is such crimes to rise in celerity.

In sum, when anything in this world is misused, would always have detrimental effect on people in general. Hence their students should be advised not to misuse them and always have a study plan that they are stringent to.So as to create a balance between study time and social life.