Analysis of Issue:

Formal educational credits should be the most important factor in hiring employees.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the above opinion. Support your opinion with reasons and examples

The question whether formal educational credentials should be the most important factor in hiring employees has been ongoing for some time. While education credentials deserve recognition for acquiring them, experience should the important driving factor in the hiring of employees. With experience come a range of benefits such as relevant position experience and knowledge in accurately performing the position's requirements. Furthermore, any employee with experience usually also has the benefits of transferable skills even if they did not perform the exact same positions' functions. The final reasons and perhaps the biggest is that an experienced employee has an increased understanding of the currently business industry and has both acquired resources and a network of people to help them better fulfil the positions needs. We will examine each reason in further detail.

An experienced employee with relevant experience requires less training to better perform the tasks at hand. They are also less prone in making mistakes due to their experience having made them previously. The ability to immediately fit into the positions also means that the degree to which business operations slowdown due to the learning curve a person with only formal educational credits has presents, is lessened significantly. These reason translate to lower costs and increased revenue potential for the hiring company.

Additionally, an employee with similar experiences from another industry has acquired many existing skills that would be considered transferable. While that employee may not have performed the exact same functions that the position requires, many of their skills they developed and honed in the previous position still apply to the new position and are considered transferable.

In the final reason, an employee that has had prior experience in the same or similar industry understand the functionality of the business and its operations. While formal education credits usually cover an industry, it is more likely broad in scope and covers many different variables within that existing industry. An employee with experience has the exact needed knowledge for that exact industry. Additional benefits that experienced employees offer are an established network of resources. These resources can come in the form of significant information and people.

In the end, it can be seen that while formal educational credits are nice perks to have, experience offer a stronger ranges of benefits which can immediately apply to the position in question. Through the use of relevant prior experience, transferable skills or current industry knowledge and resources the position is best filled with an employee who has experience.