In any academic area or professional field, it is just as important to recognize the limits of our knowledge and understanding as it is to acquire new facts and information.

It is always better to have more knowledge, the more knowledge you acquire, the more learned you will become.It is also important to know one‘s own understanding and capabilities that how much he can understand the knowledge he has acquired. He will not be able to absorb the additional knowledge if he does not have a capability to understand whatever knowledge he has acquired. Everyone does not have same intelligence. Therefore rather than emulating others, it is always better to give equal importance to your own level of understanding as that given to acquiring new facts and information.

For Instance,the person who has a good understanding of basic programming language like C, C++, can learn other programming language quite easily, the person can better understand new facts and information, since he has the basic knowledge that is required to understand it. Whereas another person who does not know basic programming language and who does not have a capability to think logically, cannot emulate these people who have a much better understanding of basic programming language and logical thinking. So before acquiring new fact person must spend time on recognizing his limits of understanding before learning about new facts and knowledge, otherwise the person will be incapable of absorbing and utilizing new information.

Likewise, if the person wants to become a Chartered accountant, he must take this decision by accessing his competence in subject areas related to Chartered accountant. The person may have certain limitations that will prevent him from becoming a Chartered accountant. Therefore a person must spend time in analyzing the limits of his knowledge and understanding and proceed to become a Chartered accountant. Otherwise failure to analyze the limits of his knowledge and understanding would lead to a scenario where he will not become a good Chartered accountant.

One cannot deny that learning new facts and information about your field of interest will be beneficial to progress in your career, as you will be well informed. However decision to keep acquiring new facts and information without assessing your limits in understanding this new information will always be questionable.

One can never put newly acquired facts and information to good use if he does not have understanding of the same. Can a automobile engineer create car design on computer if he does not know how to use the software?Can a programmer utilize his programming skills to design a software, if he does not know basic programming concepts? So it is absolutely essential that a person must give Importance to knowing his limits with respect to knowledge and understanding and the same level of importance must be given to acquiring new facts and information.