In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As a famous adage goes – “Nothing is new under the Sun”. Everything that is to be discovered has already been discovered. This might not always hold true. As long as there are humans, there will always be new ideas and novel things to discover and invent in the still unexplored realms. The assertion that in any field or profession a beginner is more likely to make important contributions than an expert is a controversial one. On the one hand, this assertion might hold true for most of the technological advances of the Twenty-First century. However, advances related to esoteric Science fields, years of toil and experience are a must. However, in the final analysis it must be noted that experience along with a never ending zeal to explore and discover something new is essential for the discovery or invention of novel things.

Considering the case of Google, a tech giant and one the most precious companies of 21st century was basically modelled around a simple idea of a search engine that could filter out all irrelevant details and provide the most useful results based on the search terms entered by the user. It was a university project given to two students of Stanford University. It was not that this idea didn’t exist before the two students’ implementation, the so-called experts didn’t have the enthusiasm, imagination or the dedication to sit and work on this idea to make it a reality. Also, Microsoft another tech giant, was established by Bill Gates while he was still in his college. It took the world by force when it released its easy-to-use Graphical User Interface. Hence, the author’s observations that a newbie could contribute more to a field than any expert can might hold true here.

Moreover, one might consider the field of sports, in which an athlete is expected to perform the best in his prime years. Once, the athlete ages, his energy diminishes and he is no longer able to compete with young blood. Here the author’s statement that - “, a beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions” would not hold true. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar, a renowned Indian cricketer, performed the best on the field while still in his twenties. Once he entered the thirties, his performance diminished and gracefully retired from the profession.

Conversely, one might consider the field of science. An expert in any field has become so because of his deep-rooted passion and the endless hours of toil he put, to gain an extensive knowledge in his subject. An expert has a comprehensive understanding of his subject. Armed with passion towards the field of inquiry and equipped with knowledge gained from endless hours of hard toil, an expert is more likely to make groundbreaking contributions than fledgling novices who have just entered the workforce. For instance, Albert Einstein one of the most revered physicist and mathematician of the twentieth century is remembered even now for his work on “Theory of Relativity”. Had he not gained expertise in his field, we most likely won’t have been able to understand the cosmos and its functioning.

In a nutshell, even though a beginner brimming with enthusiasm is more likely to make contributions into his career, an expert’s extensive knowledge about a subject cannot be taken for granted. A beginner is more likely to possess a new perspective to look at the same problem however he lacks the firsthand experience that only an expert has. Anybody with an in-depth knowledge and an unending desire to constantly explore and learn is can surely make nodal contributions.