In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is quite natural that different individuals have a variety of conflicting opinions. Therefore, there have been a myriad of debates and discussions in any field. How these sorts of exchange of ideas have influenced progress is not a simple question. While some people argue that contrasting viewpoints harm progress in general, some others claim that any sort of development depends on such different arguments. I support the latter idea although the former has some relevant points.

In several cases, the uncontrolled and everlasting discussions result in nothing but delays and regressions. This problem is especially decisive when important decisions have to be made to deal with constantly changing situations, such as political and diplomatic conflicts and crises. There have also been several cases in history that some adept strongmen could develop their countries in a short period even though they dismissed the democratic process to some degree. For example, Mustafa Kemal of Turkey quickly modernized a newborn republic named Turkey and introduced many significant reforms, such as secularization and economic transformation. If he had allowed many contrasting voices to be heard, he would not have succeeded in implementing reforms in a short period.

However, a few such cases cannot fully legitimize the exclusion of different views. In contrast, the aforementioned examples including that of Mustafa Kemal are rather an exception. In other circumstances, a lot of totalitarian regimes have failed mainly because of their lack of space for sound discussions. North Korea is one of the clear examples. By the 1960s, Kim Il-Sung finalized his absolute power in North Korea and built a quasi-dynasty. After that moment, there was no one who could tackle the fallacies and mistakes of him and the result was a total collapse of the North Korean economy and a plethora of social problems. Such dictatorial or authoritarian regimes are not flexible to deal with crises mainly because of the fact that they have insufficient opportunities to hear different voices.

This kind of problem is not related to political regimes only. This can happen in any type of community and group and that is why many companies or institutes maintain devil’s advocates in their organizations. In this competitive world, a paucity of discussions means retreat and regression as a lack of views means limited options. Even on a smaller scale, such as in group projects in university, embracing and discussing different viewpoints are really important to produce better performances. Similarly, all academic fields encourage such discussions to make better understandings. For example, pieces of fossils have caused a lot of debates between scientists regarding the evolution processes of animals. As a result, many previous fallacies and mistakes could be revised and more comprehensive explanations could emerge.

Therefore, it can be concluded that the importance of discussions is clear. Although such discussions sometimes can make delays, the value of different opinions is more significant to show better performances despite this fact. Thus, without contrasting viewpoints, it is hard to make any relevant development in the end.