Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News: "The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they w

First, this is a cross time, cross location and cross interest research analysis, any comparative study should be taken with a grain of salt. convincing and matches with the nowadays’ popular ovation “Go-Green”. At the first sight to the above letter, you will agree with the author that authorities should prohibit and ban the building of a road along the edge of Wetlands. However, as we go deep into the matter, we can easily grasp many flaws and realize that the argument lacks the vital evidences to validate its claim.

It was a different time from now, technology may improved drastically, nowadays road will have different environmental impact. , while the tufted groundhog lives in the ground. Thus, when Carpenteria allowed the revoke of the sanctuary, it might be that people started to build factories and houses across the sea and water became polluted and no longer livable. These possibilities may be the reason for the decline of the sea otter. On the other hand, groundhogs live on the ground and won’t be affected by such changes at the coastal areas. As long as we can’t confirm these claims, we need enough info about both creatures and their habitat to determine whether road development should be allowed or not.

It was a totally different species, sea otter lives differently to groundhog. A sea otter has different mode of life and they have to crawl a long the upper surface to relocate, unlike groundhogs using 3-dimentional tunnels. , which led to the decrease in sea otter. He didn’t mention any exact reason for that decline. Is it due to climate change? Or due to people’s bad behavior and hunting of sea otter? Or is it just a coincidence? He should’ve mentioned proper reasons to avoid ambiguity.

Different location matters, in another town, everything can be different, from the flow of traffic to animal behaviors. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. And there’s no enough data about the current status and numbers of groundhogs. Maybe groundhogs have become extinct before 2014 so West Lansburg was declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004. Thus, there’s no particular basis upon which road establishment should be prohibited.

In conclusion, we can say author should provide the exact reason and statistics of Eastern region's declination.If those two parts have different issues with sea population,then providing a same conclusion,will never give success.Also sea population's behavioral changes should be counted to make a decision on whether sea side road is harmful or not.