Based on the assumption that government is vastly more knowledgeable and better accoutered at decision making than the laity, the author avers that policy formulation should be the prerogative of the government. I believe that the problem does not require an either or solution and after weighing in the pros and cons as detailed below, it would be clear that collaborative decision making would be the ideal way forward.

While it is true that the government has expert opinion and resources at its disposal, an important aspect that the author overlooks is the vested interest of these groups and other beneficiary groups, which the government might be beholden to. The politicians might have their own gain concatenated with the interests of large donors or unions. To avert such decision-making which would be beneficial only to the powerful, participative decision-making or citizen involvement is imperative. For instance, any major policy on environmental protection and reducing carbon emissions would be detrimental to the corporate community and they would exert significant influence on the government officials to filibuster. However when the denizens are involved, a more balanced policy can be ensured. The TATA Nano project in Singur, West Bengal is an example of the government subverting the interest of the citizens and allocating large pieces of land, displacing the common farmer, in order to earn favors with a large corporate house. The resulting agitation eventually lead to the project being shifted to another state, causing significant loss to the West Bengal government. However, had a more consensus based approach being adopted, a policy to the betterment of all involved would have likely ensued.

Participative decision making is propitious for both the society and the government. While the nation benefits from adoption of a policy which has its foundation etched in the ‘larger benefit’, the government too benefits as it would face less resistance and more support from the people in implementation of the policy. The dialectical process that participative decision-making entails would serve to sensitize both parties to each others’ views; the government to what the people want and the general citizens to various problems or hurdles in policy making. It would act as an impetus for the citizens to be involved not just in the strategic process but also at the grassroots level with the actual implementation in their own local communities. This idea is best highlighted in the book ‘The Wisdom of the crowds’ where in the author purports that decision making based on aggregation of information in groups often exceed individual wisdom and this is true in myriad scenarios from economics, to business and national good. The four main criteria diversity of opinion, decentralization, independence and aggregation each resulting in incremental benefits towards most effective decision making.

While it has been seen that democratic decision making is an effective way to diffuse excessive power in the hands of a few, it does come with certain disadvantages and delays. There is significant cost involved in ensuring a wide cross section of people to ensure significant representation and to avoid any skew. Additionally, the citizens might not have the policy makers are required to possess which could severely limit practical applicability. Trying to diffuse opposing stances and arrive at a consensus could be a painfully slow process and in situations where an immediate decision needs to be taken, it might have effects to the contrary.

However the value derived from involved citizens actively debating and deliberating over an issue cannot be tangibly measured against objective parameters such as time and cost. Any policy would finder higher acceptance if the voice of the people has been taken into account and time and cost objections are offset by the likelihood of the policy being far more enriched and comprehensive, serving the larger needs of the society. Hence it can be concluded that bilateral decision making is far more advantageous than the government unilaterally deciding.