To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards

As a leader, he should have many important characteristics to conduct the people who are under his leadership to approach the goals. The statement claims that there is a direct link between being an effective leader and being ethical and moral person. At the first glance, it can be stated that in any societies, like a country, being successful is not related to respecting moral and ethical principles. Although, it is undeniable that the most important characteristic of an effective leader is capability to manage and control the society against the probable dangers but, there are tacit points in this argument.

First, supporters of this statements claim that a leader of society just undertakes the responsibility to conduct whole society to their goals, regardless of what ways he uses for approaching the goals. There are evidences in the history when ordinary people observe their official does not respect the moral values, they no longer believe in his ability and proficiency. As a clear example, Berloskony, the former first minister of Italy, when it was revealed his sexual relations with some celebrities, the public opinions abruptly changed respect to him, regardless of the great changes he made in the economic. Under this circumstances, the people no longer collaborate with their leader and maybe try to deteriorate his public face, even if they have voted him before.

Second, supporters of this statement claim that not respecting to ethics does not affect his leadership affairs but there is an intangible point that if a leader do not consider the morality in their social and personal behaviors, they may spread from the top of government to the bottom. Several studies has been done by non-profit organizations shows that there is deep link between respecting to morality by superior leader and middle level principals or even ordinary people. In other words, if people see that the top leader who is paragon of the society does not believe in any ethics, they readily let themselves to commit any crimes. Under this circumstances, it can not be warranted that the whole society approach to the predefined goals.

Last but not least, there is no warranty that a person who does not believe in moral principles in his life, be loyal respect to his people. In other words, only thing prevent one to do not pay immoralities is his conscience. If he miss his sense of conscience resulted by paying attention to immoral behaviors, it can be claimed that there is no reasons the immoral leader to be loyal respect to his people. Under this circumstances, the whole society may not approach to the predefined goals which supporters of the above statement want to reach to regardless of the personal characteristics of the leader.

In light of the aforementioned details, besides of important attribute of successful leaders like ability of management, moral characteristics carry the same weight so that otherwise the society would not reach the goals.